Suspense is created in the short story "How I Met My Husband" in more than one way. First, the feeling of whether or not Edie will be caught wearing the dress captivates the reader. The part of the story when Edie is waiting for Chris Watter's letter also creates suspense. This is because the reader doesn't know whether or not the letter is coming. The story makes the reader wonder "what happens next". An example of mystery in this story would be Chris Watters' reason for packing up and leaving suddenly. An example of dilemma would be Chris Watters' intinmate actions with e
Cesia M
1/28/2013 11:03:24 pm

"How I Met My Husband" was one of my favorite short stories that we have read in class. I definitively agreed about the story having some suspense through out its content. Specially at the part when the main character decides to wear the fabulous red dress. When I was reading that part of that story, I kept telling myself to calm down because I was so anxious to find out what would happen with Edie and the dress she "borrowed" from Mrs. Peebles's fancy closet. With that being said, the reader tends to freak out but hey, thats what makes this story memorable and one of my favorites.

Reply



Leave a Reply.